Below par

1 03 2009

Over the last week or so I have been below par (again) with yet another cough which turned a bit more sinister on Friday when I felt quite nauseas all day.

I suspect the reason was partly tiredness as Eddie has been up to his old tricks again. Can you buy straitjackets for 2 year olds ? Whilst it is always nice to see him visits at 1 am, 3 am, 5 am and 6 am do start to take their toll and so Thursday night was a bit of a stinker. I got up on Friday feeling extremely “fuzzy” and didn’t recover all day. 24 hour bug or Eddie – I still don’t know.

Friday lunchtime I thought there was no way I was going to be able to do my planned run on Saturday. I thought a good night’s sleep might help though and so Friday night I slept in the secret sanctuary of the spare room and slept very deeply.

Saturday I awoke feeling quite a bit better but still well below par but I had made a commitment to run with someone and so I thought I better see the thing through and anyway I have a half marathon next week.

I dropped the distance to a mere 11.5 miles and then set off. I still felt slightly queasy at the start but within 1 mile or so began to relax although I found the run a bit more tiring than I would normally.

It was however great to have company and to find someone who lives so close and with similar pace to myself is a real bonus that I wasn’t expecting. He must have had a real shock when the whole family turned up to see us off !

The run was incident free (fortunately) and I managed 11.5 miles whilst feeling well below par. When I got home I had a long soak in radox and felt slightly ill. I decided to take a nap and at 2 pm I emerged as right as rain.

The legs are really getting stronger. I am delighted I ran 11.5 miles with some hills and still had the strength to attend a roller disco the same day ! Today I couldn’t tell I had run yesterday and I feel almost fully recovered from the 24 hour bug.

Next week is the dreaded half-marathon. If I am well and sensible I should get around but the field last year was small (200-300) and pretty useful. A finish in the last 50 or so looks likely which will be an experience for me. I will also be lapped by some athletes.

I must bear in mind that I have really only just taken up running and a year ago if you had told me I would be running a half marathon again I would have said “rubbish”. I am quite proud of what I have achieved.

roller-disco

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 03 2009
Wifey

You should be very proud of what you’ve achieved! We are…

Just for the record the Roller Disco was for the benefit of the boys not for Robert to strut his stuff… although it might well lend itself to some interesting cross-training possibilities and I could always sew some sequins onto a running top for you…

5 03 2009
A girl running

I can sympathise. I have two daughters and neither of them slept a full night in the first 3 years….luckily I wasn’t running then!

Good luck with the half – I hope your feeling better and well recovered in time

Leave a Reply

