Recovered (almost)

4 01 2009

I’m up and running again after almost a month of enforced lay off which included a hamstring injury followed by flu followed by a chesty cough, headaches and sinusitis.

I set out yesterday to do 2.5 miles or so. It has been so long my legs have lost some strength but my chest/ breathing etc was pretty good considering I still have the remnants of a cough. I ran the distance twice (yesterday and today) at roughly 9 minute pace which is ok for me and apart from a little stiffness I feel fine.

It is a case of a couple of steps back to go forward again but health permitting I should be able to build up back to my previous form fairly quickly (hopefully by end of Jan). I am going to attempt a half marathon in early March at the latest and have my first marathon on 5th April.

I think it is a case of one day at a time and build up again (without rushing it). The month enforced lay off may help me in the long run who knows ?

More blog entries to follow soon…

and here’s the fella that knocked me out, the dreaded “flu virus”

orthomyoxvirus

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

