The loneliness of the long distance runner

6 11 2008

Another short morning run snatched before work. I must take the chance whilst I can and build up the mileage.

There was a sea mist today – very atmospheric .

I ran along the front to return home via the Wirral Way. There was nobody around this morning on the Wirral Way. Where was everyone ? I’m not complaining. It was great to have the path to myself.

wirral-way-new-2

The hedges had been cut recently which was good as it can tend to feel a little bit oppressive especially on days like today.

At one point up ahead to my surprise was what appeared to be rays of sunshine cutting through the mist onto the path. It was however an illusion ( yes I have started seeing things ) and was simply leaves that were so fluorescent in colour that they gave the illusion of sunlight where they had fallen. A strange moment indeed.

It is still strange to run in the morning before work. Until now I have got straight into the car and joined the rush hour. Overall the experiment seems to be working. I am running during the light and it is far more pleasurable to be able to take in the surroundings. The limitation will be time. I have limited myself to half an hour runs at the moment but will try for something longer tomorrow. May even take my hydration system out for an airing.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

